Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » I got a kalimba

Me: >gets kalimba literally 3 days ago and has barely put it down since

Also me: "Huh... Why do my thumbs hurt?"

For the uninitiated: This is a kalimba.

(Mild CW: It sounds a lot like a music box, so if you're like me and have a peculiar sensitivity to that sound, be aware when you click that link.)

So the story here is that about 10 years ago, I ordered some harmonicas from amazon.com (since I like to play the harmonica, but I'm not very good at it haha) and amazon.com has never let that go. They've recommended me musical instruments on and off for the last decade. "Hey, I see you bought a $40 harmonica, can we perhaps interest you in this $400 hurdy gurdy?" No, amazon. Go away. >:(

Well, one day it recommends me a kalimba. I've never seen this thing before, so I go looking it up on youtube, where most people use it to play Ghibli music and that one song from Minecraft you'll know by the first 6 notes.
Pros: It sounds lovely and looks fun.
Cons: The sound it make actually made me cry. I don't know why, but I have a sensitivity to that sound... I also cry if I wind up a toy music box I've had since I was a child.

Put it out of mind until Youtube tossed another rec at me, because Youtube also won't let anything go! Look up one thing on it, and now it thinks you want 400 more of that thing. So a few months later, I opened up another video and, for some reason, watched it 4 times... Decided, on a whim, that I wanted one of these things. For one thing, I love things that make sound and it seemed nice to pluck around on. For another, I wanted to work past my weird sensitivity problem through exposure therapy. Did some cursory research and threw one on my Amazon wishlist, and decided to wait for a sale or when I had cash. It wasn't a high priority.