Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » AMA: Aspiring character designer

ChebaTheBee

I aspire to be a professional artist in the gaming industry one day, along with self publishing my own comics. One of the things I enjoy when creating my characters is - designing their appearance! I currently work as an artist for a friend's virtual pet site as well! The things I work on would be art for cosmetic items for users' avatars, bosses and/or pet items.

Feel free to ask questions and I'll do my best to answer!
Auberon Moderator

What does your process for character creation look like? Do you have a sort of formula that you follow?
ChebaTheBee Topic Starter

Auberon wrote:
What does your process for character creation look like? Do you have a sort of formula that you follow?

I create my characters using things such as music, videogames, horror genre or real life animals as inspiration. For instance, I've tried to use this one character's design from a controversial game as an inspiration for a character's appearance, but their looks eventually became their own. I drew a bunch of versions of this character and experimented with things like making a different beard style and hairstyles of a certain theme. Another character I've made for the very same project is a dragon whom I've struggled to figure out looks for. I also drew a couple of versions of their looks until I figured out what their anatomy could be like - it's based of off deer and also have included deer hooves. Just in the dragon's case I've also used kirin, the mythical creature, to get some ideas for their looks.