Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » AMA - Amateur MMA fighter

Aya

Hello everyone, I hope this posts finds you well!

I saw many posts here about various topics, and each AMA was very interesting to read. So, I decided to pluck up the courage and start my own topic here.

I've been boxing since 2018, currently on a 9-0 record (amateur fights, of course) and I'm a Brazilian Jiujitsu blue belt, been training since 2020. I feel like many people tend to have a lot of confusion or misconceptions about fighters, especially us female fighters. So, please ask me any question at all, I'd do my best to try and give you the best answers I could think of.

You can ask just about anything really, from how to improve your cardio to what age is considered too late to start training. I really want more people to understand fighters, and I want to encourage more people to take up martial arts training (any sort) because it's really therapeutic and life changing.

Thank you!
Why Jiujitsu? And how is it different from others fighting styles?
Hello Aya! ^_^

Undefeated! Keep up the great work! :)

So...questions!

Lets say, hypothetically, this guy named Ed really wants to do Martial Arts. Unfortunately, he's lost most of his flexibility in his legs because he cannot kick any higher than about 2 or 3 feet off the ground. But this guy still wants to do Martial Arts. Is it too late for him or is there a way to increase his flexibility so he can perform the moves that require him to kick much higher?
Aya Topic Starter

Ultra-Knight wrote:
Hello Aya! ^_^

Undefeated! Keep up the great work! :)

So...questions!