Skip to main content

Forums » RP Discussion » New to MxM Rp. Trying to learn.

Yuuki (played by CaptainFox)

Heya everyone!

So as the title says I am new to MxM rp and have made a character who may fit into that area and was wondering if anyone had tips for that sorta thing. Irl I'm not gay or bi so the details miss me a bit. Just trying to expand my rp wings so I can rp with more people. All the tips help. Thanks!
Incubus_2

As a only MxM roleplayer,I know a thing or two.

When it comes to romance,It is basically like normal straight relationships,but they are both males,and react maybe differently,Some can be shy like a female,some can be tough,or some can be Mean even,not knowing how to show their true feelings to the one they like.

Another thing is,When it comes to Smut or Yaoi, There is a Dom and the sub,or switches,either way,And you can decide,or see what happens,when you roleplay to see where your character winds up in position.Again,Smut is just like Normal Straight smut,just Male on Male!

Wellll,I hope I was helpful!

If you ever want to get together to chat and/or roleplay,Don't be afraid to Dm!

-Incu
JetReigns

I'm a gay man so I'm going to throw in whatever comes to mind.

If you're going for realism, I strongly suggest looking for examples of MxM relationships outside of the yaoi and bl genres since those are often made by women, for women and portray a lot of tropes, stereotypes, and dynamics that aren't accurate to real MxM relationships. Same goes for a lot of fanfiction. Gay relationships can be very similar to straight relationships, but there are a lot of differences too. I find it easier to dispel stereotypes and myths than to try to explain what the relationships are like, since they vary a lot.

- Dom/sub is not exclusive to or necessary for MxM relationships.