Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » Cure for Anxiety?

Aya

I've never been diagnosed for anxiety, I've never spoken to a professional, and I'm definitely not the type to "self diagnose" or believe whatever they say on the internet.

However, I do believe that I have a serious anxiety problem. I'm constantly scared and worried, it's like a dark cloud shadowing over me that makes me feel afraid and in doubt of myself. It's very crippling and debilitating, and I feel like it's beginning to impact my physical health as well. The funny thing is that most of the time what I'm scared of never even comes to pass, and it's mostly silly stuff too. For example, I'm in my second year of Masters, and I've spent the entire first year (two semesters) just stressing out about my credits and final grades, to the point where I couldn't sleep or eat well. In the end, my results came out and I actually did great, I was one of the best in my class.

Which brings me to my point: Most of the stuff I'm worried about never even happen, but it still doesn't stop me from being eaten up by my anxiety. And it's not just my degree either, it is almost every aspect of my life. As an adult, it makes it extremely difficult to come out of my comfort zone. I just want to see if there are others here that understand what I'm going through. I want to learn some useful tricks you guys have that could help me deal with my anxiety.

Thank you so much for reading my "rant", I just really needed a safe space where I could express myself because I'm too scared to reach out to anyone in real life. I've tried before, but I almost never get any advice or help, just patronizing comments or an empty, shallow "stop worrying so much!" Again, thanks for your time, I hope to hear from you guys.