Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » AMA: I am Teacher in a Northern Indigenous Reserve

Hello there,
I am a white teacher working in a Reserve for a school that goes nursery to 10, with students in grade 11 and 12 going to other communities for a full time experience.

I can't speak to the indigenous perspective, but I can answer some questions through observations and conversations and what I've been taught that I am able to pass on. I am not a traditional knowledge keeper, so please if you are able to go to someone who would know these things go to them. The people I work with are Inninew, or Cree.

There is only one store here that contains a post office and they can act as a bank. There is also a school and an arena that is closed, as well as the band office. There are two churches, but there was three until recently.

I have worked in city schools so I can answer some things about the differences, though I did not teach the same age while I was in the city.

I can talk about snow, snow days, traditional activities, what is different between the city and reserve, I can talk rez dogs, we can talk about class sizes, what it's like without a fully qualified teaching team, where students are left behind, language, how I'm treated as a white person here, what effects from residential schools I see, how to incorporate more indigenous knowledge into classroom settings, being a teacher in general, being an openly queer teacher, the prices at the store etc.
Kim Site Admin

Why the emphasis on prices in the store? Is there a lot of price gouging?
Talk about the internet situation. (Like I don't know.) Has the produce situation gotten any better? Also, do you have pictures of the doggos? How about a picture of the snowfall from the other week?
Cacophony Topic Starter

Kim wrote:
Why the emphasis on prices in the store? Is there a lot of price gouging?