remember me
Register | Forgot Login

Character Slots FAQ

Table Of Contents

  • How do I know how many character slots I have?

    While logged in to your account, visit Dashboard » Your Account. Under the title "Characters", you'll see your total number of slots, how many are currently in use, and an accounting of where your slots come from.

    It will look something like this:

    EXAMPLE: You are currently using 12 of 36 character slots.

    • 10 of those slots are from your basic membership.
    • 10 more slots are added by your epic membership.
    • 16 are permanent extras.
  • How do I get more character slots?

    You can also temporarily boost the number of character slots you have available by boosting your account to an Epic Membership. So long as you remain an Epic Member, you will have 10 extra slots available.

    You can permanently boost the number of characters slots you have available by purchasing permanent character slots, à la carte. These don't come with all the other perks of being an Epic Member, but you can rest comfortable knowing that they will never expire. There are several items that can give you more character slots, including the Enchanted Silk Cloak and the Dragon's Tooth. Check the character slots section in the store!

  • Are epic character slots different than permanent character slots?

    Yes. The slots provided by an Epic Membership expire as soon as your Epic Membership runs out. At that time, if you have more characters than slots, the excess characters will end up locked.

    Permanent character slots will never expire.

  • What happens if I end up with more characters than I have slots to store them in?

    Every account has 10 free slots. There are numerous reasons why you can have more characters:

    • You bought or received a gift Epic subscription, which allowed you to make more than 10 characters
    • You had more than one account and were asked to put all characters onto one account, leading to more than 10 characters

    If you do not have permanent additional character slots and your Epic subscription expires or you get more characters merged to your account, the characters you created last get locked from editing. Assuming I have 2 free slots and received 2 extra Epic membership slots (a total of 4!), I create the following characters in the order as shown:

    • Susie
    • Johnny
    • Albert
    • Gilda

    I created Susie first and Gilda last. But when my Epicness expires, I only have 2 slots left! Albert and Gilda will become locked, but I can still edit Susie and Johnny (shown as bolded).

    • Susie
    • Johnny
    • Albert
    • Gilda

    At this point I can buy more slots or delete characters. Let’s see what happens when I delete Johnny! Now my list looks like this:

    • Susie
    • Albert
    • Gilda

    With 2 slots, I can now edit Susie and Albert, but not Gilda. Let’s remove another one.

    • Albert
    • Gilda

    Every time you delete a character, the order of creation is maintained. Deleting Susie and Johnny moved Albert and Gilda up two spaces, meaning they can now be edited.

    This is how RPR handles all character slots. The server doesn’t distinguish between Epic slots and normal slots: they’re all the same! The only thing that matters is the time of creation - first come, first serve!

  • In what order do characters unlock?

    In the order in which they were created. The last character that you made will be the last to be unlocked.