Skip to main content

Forums » RP Discussion » Writers vs. (au)ADHD

I've been thinking about making this topic for a while.

I'm a hobbyist writer and a roleplayer, who sadly has ADHD, but can not get much meds needed at the moment. I wonder if there are any other people with ADHD/focus issues who can share any tips on handling all of that and continuing on writing and roleplaying?

Nothing beats proper meds, but I'm not going to lie, many folks these days are forced to try random tips and techniques to keep on going until they can finally get the medical treatment. :( It's very sad, but still better than giving up and doing nothing or doing everything on the last second.

So far, here is some stuff that helped either me or my friends. They don't work for everyone, but it's always worth trying, maybe it will turn out helpful to you.
  • Pomodoro timers + lists: not helpful for my focus issues, BUT it's extremely helpful for my time blindness! It helps me avoid overworking myself, thus preventing burnout. Also, lists are very good for planning and not forgetting to do stuff. Eg. I use 2 pomo timers for one RP reply, and 2 for another one!
  • Company: In my case, I often struggle with starting stuff until there is someone to help me start it, even gently "pushing" me into doing it.
  • Guided focus meditation: I don't like this one personally... Focusing on the voice for 10+ minutes is annoying, but sometimes it helps with motivation and in the end makes me relaxed. <_<
Please add some stuff that helps you + your experiences, whether you have meds or not ^^ I'm always curious to hear from other neurodivergent and disabled writers!
Even with my meds (I've tried 3 so far and not much has helped) I feel the struggle. Often with writing I find my hyperfocus to be the problem and not task paralysis. But for those days I don't take my meds or otherwise have trouble writing, sometimes I find the following helps: