Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » Self Love..or trying to learn how

Rosa

Hello!
Ahhh... it feels like im home! I did miss this place, and yall on here. I want to bring to light a topic... Self love. Life gets busy and hectic and we often forget to care for ourselves. I know i did. I recently went though a series of breakdowns that led me to self harm. Im not proud of it, and i do regret it. However, it made me realize that i wasnt living how i wanted to. Im a full time college student that has a part time job and has a bunch of responsibilities at home caring for my family. Little by little i was loosing touch with my own needs and got to focused on other stuff.
I stopped playing video games, stopped rping and even just writing stories.
The rp posts i did do? They were lackluster, inconsistent and had little effort. I cheated my partners by not giving them enough and spacing out to much until i eventually dropped offline. That hurt them, and i felt horrible for it but i always thought id make it up and "itll be fine. Im fine"

Truth was, I wasnt. I hid the truth from my family, and my closet friends- 5 i met on this very website! I slowly locked myself up until i broke.

Self harm can come in many forms- physically, mentally and emotionally. You beat yourself up until you start believing the lies your saddness or anger tell you.
"Youre not good enough"
"Look at what you did!"
"Really? You really want That??"
"Youre such a bother!"
"Dont annoy them-theyll hate you"
"Stop trying so hard"
"Maybe you dont belong here"
"the worlds better without you"