Skip to main content

Forums » Help » Tips on being a Moderator.

I've just joined my first group and they've chosen to put me as one of the moderators. Since it's my first time i'd like a few helpful hints so I don't completely screw up. Thanks! :D
Kim Site Admin

What a great question! The mere fact that you are actively thinking about how to do a good job tells me you are on the right track. Moderation requires a person with a strength of their convictions but who also questions their decisions constantly, so that they can try to avoid "playing favorites" or banning someone because they are having a bad day.

We have a ton of great advice on this subject stored, because as you might imagine, it is of great interest to many of our members! Here's my advice and some of my favorite links with info:

Deal with problem behavior very, very early. The moment it seems a little fishy to you, ask the person about it and see what's motivating them and what they are intending to do. If necessary alert them (gently) to how their behavior is/could be affecting others. Do not wait until it becomes a crisis. Then you can gently nudge and encourage members to behave appropriately and prevent hard feelings from developing. It is much easier to prevent than to fix. We have an article about approaching other players, especially those you consider to be friends, to nip drama in the bud without creating more of it in the process.

We've also got a massive, community-written article on running a RP group! The whole thing is great info, but you might especially find the section "enforcing the rules" helpful.

If your group leaders have yet to establish clear guidelines for behavior expectations, urge them to read the above article and have a staff meeting of all the moderators to help decide on some guidelines, so you can enforce things consistently and people know what is expected of them.