Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » AMA: Being a FTM during covid & PPA/PPD awareness

So this might be TLDR but is for all the parent's or soon to be's that might be lurking around. While I am happy to offer advice or just simply listen to anyone else's experiences.. I am by no means an expert, medical professional, or veteran parent. These are my own personal experiences that I thought could maybe help others in my position by sharing, and also maybe help me by being able to openly share.

To start off, my baby was not a planned "pandemic baby". I found out I was pregnant a month after the pandemic first began and despite any future struggles that were unknown to me at the time, wanted to keep and raise my baby regardless.

My pregnancy was not what I envisioned or expected it to be whatsoever. While I was over the moon happy about it in general, it was overall a pretty lonely experience since my s.o. works a lot. Without going into the exact details and while we made the best of it, I felt I had been robbed of what was otherwise a "normal" pregnancy due to covid and regulations put in place.

Fast forward to now. Covid is still running rampant in my area and literally only immediate famiy who live in our town have been able to see him a handful of times when he was a newborn. Due to them taking time off of work and self quarantining for that purpose. They have not seen him/me since he was roughly 4-6 weeks old and he is now almost 3 months. They are all unable to quarantine for the needed amount of time due to work obligations and can I blame them? Not at all. It makes sense for them to work as much as possible while they can in case another lock down happens or (hopefully not) someone does actually get the virus.