Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » AMA: High-end retoucher and photo composite artist

Hello, decided to make a thread for my profession here, since this is what I do for a living and I do it almost all the time.
For me. to able to finish a gig, I sometimes work up until 4AM. High-end retouching and photo compositing is a really time-consuming job and often the turnaround period is not enough.

I do high-end retouch for photographers that specialize in beauty, fashion and editorial photography. Photos like these get published in quality magazines like Vogue or they're used for campaigns for certain brands.

As a photo composite artist, my job is to create something from other things. I started doing this for fun, because I love creating interesting worlds (mostly fantasy), but turned out I've been offered a few paid gigs. What these artists do is take elements from other photos, combining them, blend them, color correct them and a whole lot of other stuff to make a proper scenery that looks like everything used in there belongs there.

The two things get me overly-stressed, but pleased when I see the end result. I guess I'm a masochist for doing this for almost 9 years.

The software I'm using for retouch is either Capture One or Lightroom and then the photos are taken to Photoshop for an extensive retouch.
The software I use for photo compositing is Photoshop.

If you have any questions, I'd love to answer them. Bear in mind that it might take some time and I wouldn't post my work here due to privacy concerns.
Auberon Moderator

That's such a cool career! Good on you for doing something you enjoy, even if it's stressful. :)

Are there any resources or tutorials you'd recommend for someone interested in learning how to do photo composites? How did you first dip your toes into the art?
JustAStory Topic Starter

Auberon wrote:
That's such a cool career! Good on you for doing something you enjoy, even if it's stressful. :)