Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » AMA: Father, Husband, Professional Editor

Ben Moderator

Hello friends <3

I've been married to my wife for six years. We met online and I had to immigrate to be with her, so I'm also open to questions about immigration (I've done it twice) and long distance relationships :)

We have a daughter who will be 3 in December and another daughter on the way, due in April.

I work as a senior editor for a digital marketing business publication. I run their ebooks and special projects program, which is a high revenue driver.

I'm open to any questions about parenting, relationships, careers, digital marketing, leveraging your creativity in your career, etc.
Auberon Moderator

There's no way the tatertot has become the tatertoddler.

Can you give a laymen's explanation of what SEO is and why it matters on the modern web?
Claine Moderator

Hiya Ben!!

I'm currently working on a large-scale solo creative project which requires quite a thorough editing process. Do you have a top tip of things to look for and consider?
Ben Topic Starter Moderator

Auberon wrote:
There's no way the tatertot has become the tatertoddler.

Can you give a laymen's explanation of what SEO is and why it matters on the modern web?

O M G I also cannot believe it. Technically she shot through toddler as well apparently??? when did that happen???

I LOVE your question! Modern marketing is kind of a hellhole of acronyms and corpospeak but I actually think it's super important for non-industry folks to understand SEO.

SEO = Search Engine Optimization

Whenever a human searches for something online, the information that you input is fed through an algorithm. Then responses to your input are generated based on those rules. (the process is more complicated with more stages, but this is the basic premise).

Why is this important?

PEOPLE make those algorithms and determine how information is fed back to you.