Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » AMA Emergency Services

Hello everyone, I did this last year and figured I'd toss it out there again. I work as a police officer in the Chicago-land area and was a 911 dispatcher for several years before that.

I wear a couple of different hats at the department as a defensive tactics instructor, firearms instructor, detective, and I also work as part of a major crash investigation team. I'm a federally licensed (Part 107) drone pilot, which is actually a lot of fun too.

In my spare time, I'm an advisor for the Explorer Post and help coordinate community programs like Shop with a Cop, food drives before the holidays, Cops vs. Kids events, and other like things. I manage to keep busy which probably helps keep me out of trouble ;).

Thanks for reading this. I hope everyone has a good day/night, whatever your case might be, and I'll get to any questions as quickly as I can.
Hi!

How did you become a drone pilot? Did you apply for it yourself, or were you recommend to do so? What’s the training like?
DarkonDreams Topic Starter

VivaLaVida wrote:
Hi!

How did you become a drone pilot? Did you apply for it yourself, or were you recommend to do so? What’s the training like?

Hello!

It was through the crash team primarily. We used to use total stations, like what you see contractors doing on the sides of roads, to document crash scenes. We've since switched to drones because they're much more efficient. I can do in 30 minutes what it would take 3 hours to do the old way.