Skip to main content

Forums » Introductions » Hello! I'm new to RPR and forum roleplaying!

Hello! As you can see from the title, I'm pretty new to RPR. If you check, I'be been here for a couple weeks but I haven't done much! I'm knew to forum roleplayong, but not roleplaying itself! I was wondering if anyone had any tips on forum role playing. Instead of just googling it, I'd like to get it from people from the RPR community. Thanks!
welcome to the rpr! Please feel free to ask for help anytime ^^ i am always willing to help anyway I can
Hello! Welcome to RPR- Oh wait, I know you already. x3 Silly me, I don't need to welcome people already my friends! ..Too late now. *shrug*
Welcome to Rpr hope you have fun
Hey, welcome to RPR. Hope you have a really great time here. :)
Welcome to RPR!
Kim Site Admin

Welcome!

I'm not sure that forum RP has to be so drastically different from other forms of written RP -- my best tip is that you should get clear about your expectations when you start a RP, as there are people here from all kinds of RP backgrounds and with different ideas about how things should work. A lot of frustration can be done away with by just quickly touching base and making sure everyone is on the same page, for example, with things like expected posting rate or length. I, for example, believe that one or two sentences can be plenty to move the story forward, and prefer rapid but meaty posts to quantity (while occasionally many paragraphs will be needed to set up a new scene or circumstance, of course!) -- others feel that only a sentence is a sign of disrespect and will want a paragraph or more in every post. Neither way is wrong, but you can see how two people from different schools of thought would need to clarify with each other at the outset!