Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » AMA: Professional leatherworker

Ilmarinen Moderator

Hello RPR! I am a professional artisan by trade, with a focus on tooled leather goods for historical and fantasy costumes. I have sold at many artist alleys at anime/scifi/etc. conventions as well as Renaissance and medieval faires.

You can see my work here:
http://www.athousandrasps.com

AMA anything about the craft, industry, etc, and I'll do my best to answer!
Those are lovely! :)

Did you spend many years doing it as a hobby before turning it into a business?
Sanne Moderator

What made you decide to become a professional leatherworker, and how sustainable is it as a job? :)
Cass Moderator

How can someone like me who would want to try it get started without spending too much / budget friendly?

What is your most favourite piece that you've made?

Do you have other leatherworkers you look to as a role-model, muse?
You're work is gorgeous!

I work as a teacher and it's great to see other job options where we might guide our students towards different career paths. What advice would you recommend for a young person interested in becoming an artisan or craftsman working with leather?
Ilmarinen Topic Starter Moderator

Thanks for the kind words, folks! :D
Juls wrote:
Did you spend many years doing it as a hobby before turning it into a business?
Not too many--I think I first started in late 2008, and 2013 is when I quit my job to pursue it as a profession.
Sanne wrote:
What made you decide to become a professional leatherworker, and how sustainable is it as a job? :)
So, my major at university was computer science, and I worked as a software developer for only a few months before I decided to quit, after a tragedy at our workplace. I realized that I really needed to pursue art while I was still young and in a position to do so.