Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » AMA: Self taught artist with health issues

I wasn't gonna do this but I see ssssoooo many people who have done it and I realised what a great opportunity it is for people to get the info they want and need, so here ya go!! :)

I am a self taught artist and have done it seriously for I think...a little more than two years now? Time goes fast, wow. If anyone wants to take a look at my instagram where I post some of my artworks to see what I do, here it is; https://www.instagram.com/chocolateicecream101/

Long story short I became crosseyed at the age of 5. I only see with one eye at a time which means my eyes don't collaborate, I guess you could say, so I take turns using each eye. It's not something there is noticable unless you watch me do it, luckily. Before my surgery in 2013 it worked like this; I liked using my left eye more. Always been "my favorite eye." But as mentioned I shifted between them and still do it. So back then if I used my left eye, it would be "active" which means it moved when I looked around, and meanwhile my right eye would be still. It would rest in the inner corner of the eye. If I then switched to my left eye my right eye would be the one to rest in the inner corner of the eye, while the left eye, the active one, would move as I looked around. I can see with the eye that is not active but I don't use it, what I see through it is blurry until I switch my focus to it.

I think one of the worst things I experienced was the bullying. As a woman with red, curly hair and glasses because of my sight issues, I was the main subject for ugly comments, and I looked "different" than everyone else. No one had eyes like me. I didn't even see anyone back then who had hair like mine, that first happened years later when it became popular. Do note I love my hair and always have and will never change it.