Skip to main content

Forums » Forum Games » Mystery Solving Challenge!

So this started out as me just trying to be funny in the OOC chat, but the more I think about it, the more it seems like it could be a really fun game.
I recently created a character/setting Lost Oak. I used a reasonably famous source as the inspiration for it and have scattered clues to what that source is all throughout the different pages, characters, and descriptions. So the challenge is as follows:

Head over to the page and see if you're up to the challenge of deciphering the inspiration! (hopefully the link worked, it's my first time trying this) If you think you have it figured out, you can either respond here, or message me directly with your guess. As it is a work in progress I should be able to add more characters, background, and setting every couple days and will continue to scatter clues to the inspiration throughout.

First person to get it right wins major respect points with me, serious bragging rights at the sheer scope of your greatness, and some not insignificant nerd points as well. I'll also definitely put a big kudos on your page so everyone else will know how cool you are.

If anyone can think of a better prize for me to offer, I am open to suggestions. If I were a super established member of the community then I could offer a slot in my busy RP schedule, but I am a newer member and so have lots of open slots that anyone can probably have if they ask.

Hints:

1. It is a single source of inspiration, not an amalgamation of books/movies/tv shows/etc.
2. Clever use of google/bing/wikipedia/etc should nudge you in the right direction. (Assuming input of relevant information)
3. It is not hopelessly obscure or something of amateur (i.e. my own) production.
4. It has been used as inspiration for several things of a reasonable level of modern fame.