Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » Dyslexic

Lyia (played anonymously)

My boss picked on the fact I might be dyslexic. I feel upset about learning this.
Not sure what to do, I feel alone and always wondered why certian tasks were so difficult. I don't know what to do from here. I don't have all the symptoms but enough to make things difficult.
Lark (played anonymously)

Hey, it's going to be alright. You don't have to feel alone - I know it can be hard, but there are plenty of other people in your situation, who can empathize and offer advice. Plus, there are lots of resources out there that can help out. Actually, knowing this about yourself is a really good start, because it can help you to understand why you've been having difficulties with certain things. Now that you have an answer, it can be easier to find a solution.
Hi Lyia,

I’m a teacher. Some students I work/worked with students have dyslexia. First, no one can or should tell you you have this but a doctor or even better, a neurologist who specializes in Speech disorders. There are a lot of resources and help that is available, again you should ask support groups once you have been correctly diagnosed.

One tool my students use is a program that can be installed by your school if you are still a student or that can be bought and installed on a computer called Word Q.

Definitely ask for help and see your doctor. Don’t just take your boss’s word for it.
Lyia (played anonymously) Topic Starter

Falyn wrote:
Hi Lyia,

I’m a teacher. Some students I work/worked with students have dyslexia. First, no one can or should tell you you have this but a doctor or even better, a neurologist who specializes in Speech disorders. There are a lot of resources and help that is available, again you should ask support groups once you have been correctly diagnosed.