Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » AMA: Self-Published Author

Hi there. As the title says I'm a self-published author. I've been writing since I was 11 years old, so 14 years now, and have been officially published 1.5 years. I write romance (often spicy), with a focus on queer romance, but I really just write whatever pairings come to me. The genre I write the most in is contemporary, second urban fantasy/paranormal, and third fantasy. Feel free to ask me anything! About my books, my writing process, editing process, or formatting process. Covers, marketing, royalties, reviews, social media and making connections. Everything is on the table!
Claine Moderator

Hi Mercy!! Can you please explain your initial pre-writing process. And what do you do if your ideas radically change later down the line?
MercyInReach Topic Starter

Claine wrote:
Hi Mercy!! Can you please explain your initial pre-writing process.

Hii!! Of course. I am a big ole planner/plotter. Which means I usually plan the plot from start to finish, it's just how my brain works and makes writing the first draft much quicker for me. I start with:

Basic Idea (a few sentences of the first idea I ever have about a project)

Then:

Beginning

Middle

End.

Then expand that further to:

Beginning > Hook > Inciting Event

Middle > Pinch Point > Crisis

Climax > Resolution > End

And so fourth, expanding until I have each chapter plotted out, sometimes in just a few sentences, sometimes several paragraphs.

While I'm doing all this I'm coming up with character names, backstories, relationships. Their quirks and such. Sometimes it comes while I'm working on the initial idea, other times it comes together in pieces.
Claine wrote:
...what do you do if your ideas radically change later down the line?