Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » Help a fellow out?

Okay guys, here's the deal. I've tried my friends on MSN, my friends on Facebook and my friends on deviantART. You guys are all that's left. xD

My mom has a Nook, my dad has a Kindle. I love reading books on my dad's Kindle (mainly Pride & Prejudice. Mom just got her Nook this week so I have no knowledge of how it works xD). My friend's friend just got his fairytale story published for Nook.
Here's the help I need;

I'm considering checking out making one of my own short story series, called 'Letters To A Rockstar', an eBook. But I don't even know how I would begin to do this. I've searched it on Bing and haven't come up with very helpful things for a newbie-might-be-publisher. Do you guys have any knowledge about this kind of stuff?

Thanks in advance for any help or words of advice. :) This is only speculation at the moment, I'll probably have to wait until I'm just a little older before I can publish or something. xD
Kim Site Admin

My advice is to write the book first. What format it ends up in is a secondary concern to the actual quality of the work.

ePublishing is really easy these days, and doesn't even require you to convince a publisher to sign you on in many cases. You do not have to be any specific age to publish, but you may need to get your parents to sign some things for you. Be aware that the easy part of self publishing is getting it published. Having anyone read it after you publish it requires you to be a relentless and savvy self-promoter.

You can publish yourself on the Kindle: https://kdp.amazon.com/self-publishing/signin

Apparently if you publish through smashwords, they will sell your work on kindle, the nook and their own site, but I've never used them so do your own research: http://www.smashwords.com/

Here is a good article about things you need to know to self publish: http://reviews.cnet.com/self-publishing/
Darth_Angelus Moderator