Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » Work Experience (pls send help)

nightmqre

i should be relaxing on my birthday but i just cant-

So, I'm in england. and in the UK, we do a thing called Work Experience where you take a one - two weeks off of school to go work/assist in a placement which, in my school, you have to find and contact yourself. I have to find somewhere by the 23rd of march which, in reality, isn't actually a lot of time to find and confirm a placement.

I want to find a placement which in some way corresponds to ART.

I am mainly an art student as I spend a lot of my time doing it. I want to find some sort of art career to do when I'm older (and I've found an official Art University I plan to go to) so I want to use this work experience to help with getting used to the setting that I could be working in once I've finished Uni.

Problem: I have no clue where to start.

I don't want it to be purely design such as website design; I want somewhere where I can see artists working and/or talk to artists and ask them about what it's like to be an animator or an illustrator.

Any suggestions or ideas would be helpful. I know it's hard to give exact details because my city isn't public information, but even suggestions of general ideas are helpful and needed at this point.

Ideas:
  • Going to my old primary school and working with the younger years on a purely art-based topic that they may be doing.
  • Contacting the university and working with the professors and/or students.
  • Art galleries
We had the same thing when I was in school. Back then, I wanted to make jewelry, so I contacted jewelry stores in somewhat close proximity to me, and asked them if they had their own workshop and if they could take me in for a month, which was the amount of time we had to do. Eventually, I found one who'd take me (: