Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » Need help with making a character

I'm thinking about making a DnD character but I need help making a backstory and some other stuff for the character.
Have you seen this?

https://5ebackgrounds.com/

It's very helpful!
turntechGodhead Topic Starter

Juls wrote:
Have you seen this?

https://5ebackgrounds.com/

It's very helpful!

Thanks , by the way its my first time making a character for DnD , do you have any other tips?
Hmmm... that feels too broad to give you a usable answer. Where are you at with it now? That might make it easier to point you to helpful resources or give some tips. I'm by no means an expert, but I've created at least a couple 1st level D&D characters using the 5th edition rules. So I'll try! Plus maybe some with extra expertise can chime in too. :)

Juls wrote:
Hmmm... that feels too broad to give you a usable answer. Where are you at with it now? That might make it easier to point you to helpful resources or give some tips. I'm by no means an expert, but I've created at least a couple 1st level D&D characters using the 5th edition rules. So I'll try! Plus maybe some with extra expertise can chime in too. :)

I don't know , is there certain editions that I need to start with or should I just start with the 5th edition since I'm guessing that's the current edition as of now?

And another question is Do certain DnD classes affect background? Like I'm thinking of making a character with an AbyssDweller background but I'm not sure what class If needed to put with that sort of background.
5th edition is the current version, so it's a reasonable starting point.

Officially, yes, class effects the available backgrounds. That AbyssDweller one you picked says 'Homebrew', so it's not part of the official rules. Which means it would be up to the Game Master to allow it or not. And I'm not sure which class(es) it was intended for.