Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » AMA: Museum Work

Hello hello, it's your local creature.

I've worked in museums, art galleries, and most recently a zoo in Ontario, Canada. Right now I'm wrapping up my graduate studies in heritage management and writing a thesis (of sorts) while I work at my placement. Previously I did an honors degree in history (with a minor in sociology but nobody counts those lol)

Please ask away! I think the heritage field is overlooked but fascinating.
Hello fellow Canuk!

What are some of the collections or cultures that interest you the most?
Yersinia Topic Starter

Falyn wrote:
Hello fellow Canuk!

What are some of the collections or cultures that interest you the most?
Well hi there!

Natural history collections are definitely my favourites. I love working with bones and bugs especially and enjoy doing specimen prep. I also find it the easiest (and the most enjoyable for me, personally) to do public education and outreach with natural history collections. I'm very much an 'outdoor kid' and can talk about them all day lol

Aside from that, I also like medical history and medieval/Renaissance history.
That's really cool, Yersinia. I grew up as and I'm still an 'outdoor kid' as much as I can be.

You said that you do public education and outreach, do you do them with video conferencing now?
Yersinia Topic Starter

Falyn wrote:
That's really cool, Yersinia. I grew up as and I'm still an 'outdoor kid' as much as I can be.

You said that you do public education and outreach, do you do them with video conferencing now?