Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » AMA: I lost 82kg (180pounds)

Anon (played anonymously)

In November 2018 I had a gastric sleave surgery. This surgery is less well known than its two cousins - the gastric band and the gastric bypass. The sleave is accomplished by removing 85% of the stomach so it makes the shape of a tube. This accomplishes two things
1) The stomach holds less capacity, which means you fill faster.
2) Parts of the stomach that produce the signals for hunger are removed so you don't feel hungry.

I was overweight my whole life, and even when I graduated from high school I was over 100kg. At the time I started my pre-surgery diet I was at my highest weight of 144kg. I currently weigh about 62kg. Of course, I tried more conventional methods like dieting and exercise and even though I once got my weight down as low as 75kg I would always put it back on plus more. When I got more desperate I would do more extreme and probably unhealthy diets.

Please do not ask me any questions about your own health / weight loss. You should consult people who you trust in real life, as well as medical professionals.

http://imgur.com/a/DSl5IIZ
Auberon Moderator

That's quite a transformation! What did your post-op treatment look like? Was the recovery and adjustment difficult?
Anon (played anonymously) Topic Starter

Auberon wrote:
That's quite a transformation! What did your post-op treatment look like? Was the recovery and adjustment difficult?

Hi Auberon

The post op treatment was as followed:

Two weeks of a completely liquid diet. For me this mostly made up of medical-grade meal replacements, but you could also eat soup, tea/coffee, smoothies etc. As long as there were no chunks which could get caught in the stitching.
Four weeks of puree food. I ate a lot of pureed sweet potato and scrambled eggs. This was the worst part of the pre/post op diet because by now it'd been 1-2 months since you've eaten solid foods and you were getting pretty sick of it.