Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » AMA: Medical Coding/HIT

Luscinioide

I'm currently majoring in HIT with a minor focus in inpatient medical coding. HIT refers to health information technology; this covers pretty much all things related to your health information. Databases, electronic and paper records, statistical analysis, confidentiality, security, all things data and electronic related. I also have overlapping knowledge into HIM, which is more of the management field. It's just a bunch of quality performance improvement and administrative policy mumbo-jumbo, really. I am one of few people who can read an health insurance terms agreement and tell you what it means. Yes, health insurance and pharmacology is as much of a scam as you think it is. It's unfortunate.

Medical coding refers to the deciphering of diagnostic documentation into billable coding for insurance reimbursement purposes. It's the coder's job to dig through a hellish amount of poorly written physician documentation and try to make meaning out of it. Primarily, it's broken down into the categories of 'outpatient' and 'inpatient', the latter of which being much more complicated. Think an hour of documentation versus three weeks. Not fun.

My life currently consists of cramming hundreds of organizations, policy and performance improvement steps/decision making paths, insurance guidelines, coding systems, healthcare standards, and compliance rules in preparation for sitting the RHIT exam next fall. I will probably cry. Lots. The RHIT certification is notoriously an absolute pain in the ass to take the exam for, solely because 90% of it is remembering miscellaneous things that hold no actual relevance to the very specific career path you choose. Depending on if you take it in-person or online, it can last anywhere from 3-6 hours. The passing score is a 75%, to tell you how miserable it is.