Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » AMA: Living with POTS and AuDHD as a Web Designer

Hi there!

My name is Solaris, and I am a freelance comic artist and web designer! I have been designing websites for almost 2 years now, while being engaged on art since I was little.

I also have POTS and AuDHD (both Autism and ADHD together), and as you can guess that does complicate things, making my chosen professions great for me!

I am open to answering any questions regarding just one or both of these things! <3
1 // How do you manage to keep focused/motivated on making your comic(s)?
2 // What kind of websites do you design?
solaris_light Topic Starter

These are great questions!

I mostly reflect on myself a lot, and make sure I am in the best physical and mental position to make art, at least the best I can xD- I find it really easy to make art naturally when I'm not stressed or worried about things going on with my body and mind. This can look like eating a snack, or getting up and moving around, or stepping outside for a bit before I start a piece, or even taking a small break from the art altogether until I feel like I'm ready to begin (this can range from minutes to hours to days or even months).

I design a variety of websites, that vary from ones displaying my art, jcink sites and overall html setups. I also help some of my friends co-manage websites and give them design opinions. Hope this helped!
Do you use any aids to help your POTS?

Do you design original characters for your comics? And if so, who is your favourite pro- and antagonists? Do you have a muse when it comes to comics?
Kim Site Admin

Sorry for my ignorance -- can you tell me a little bit more about POTS, what it's like living with it day to day for you?