Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » AMA: Ask The Librarian

Hey!

So I graduated with a BA in Liberal Arts and ending up working as a Library Associate II at the New Orleans Public Library until Hurricane Ida hit the area. A total of about 4 years. I was on a couple different program teams and worked the front desk most days. I've done everything from clean the bathrooms to shift and recognizing half the library lol.
What's something people can do to support their local libraries?
Ladywrath231992 Topic Starter

Kidd wrote:
What's something people can do to support their local libraries?

Oh use them! XD
I can't speak for other cities but in NOLA every time you check out a book, use the computer, go to a program, ask a reference question even just walk through the door; all of that gets counted and is factored in when it comes to setting our budget and planning out how we can best help our community.

There are lots of things the library offers beyond books, too. For instance, the libraries where I live now offer meeting rooms for pretty much anything. It's all free and some of them are big enough to have a birthday party in lol or DnD session ;)
I haven't been to a Library in years. When I was a kid my aunt took me and her kids to go check out some books and well her kids being, not well behaved in most cases, took and tossed out the books we had borrowed from the library. A fee years later I went back and they told me I had a doubt of over $500 so I could not check out any books. I was jobless at the time and so it just wasn't going to happen. I have not been to a library since. Will that doubt follow me for the rest of my life or can I just never go back to that one library? (Ik it doesn't transfer to other libraries but going to one just makes me feel like a terrible person so I avoid them all)

TheSliverChicken wrote: