Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » AMA: I needlefelt

I taught myself to needlefelt back in 2020. I'd watched a few timelapses of people doing it on youtube and wanted to try it, so I bought a kit off Etsy and the rest is history.

I am entirely self-taught, using only videos on the internet with the sound muted, and a few articles to learn about wool and needle shapes.

Here's some of what I've made.
See more

wF3rFMr.jpg
MkG7CGl.jpg
oafZC7S.jpg
HGd6OaV.jpg
TKahqCT.jpg
N2zo6H6.jpg
BKstCQc.jpg
tBR3uQj.jpg
wmyN9KN.jpg
FDGzAxs.jpg
C5tF0l7.jpg
baKlAog.jpg
OxpXUjm.jpg
IXYAV9R.jpg
aKzEvdA.jpg
2dOeVtz.jpg
u26Afa0.jpg (this one is kind of cursed but I'll post it anyway)
DZ8q0qZ.jpg
jDGfeTU.jpg
Claine Moderator

Oooh those are so cute!! I really love the King Slime!!

How long does it take you to complete one?
Aardbei Topic Starter

Claine wrote:
Oooh those are so cute!! I really love the King Slime!!

How long does it take you to complete one?

It varies. Sometimes it takes only a day (Both penguins, for example.) Sometimes, it takes several. (The king slime, unicorn, altaria.) The gryphon took me a few weeks on and off, and was by far the most difficult thing I've put together so far.

I'm currently working on one, on and off, that I've had to tear up a part of and reattach three times. But now that it looks right, I'm hoping the rest of the process will be relatively painless.

Needlefelting is a pretty forgiving craft, but it still requires an amount of patience that I didn't really learn from digital art. I think, once I got used to the slower pace, that aspect of it became part of its appeal for me.
I am currently learning to needle felt x3 how long did it take before you didn't need kits anymore?
Kim Site Admin

I don't even have a question I just wanted to say how great your work is.
Aardbei Topic Starter

TheSliverChicken wrote:
I am currently learning to needle felt x3 how long did it take before you didn't need kits anymore?

Funny story about that...