Skip to main content

Forums » Art & Creativity » Easy way to make character art? Or is it cheating?

Oyy, I have a little question to all of those artists amongst you :3

I'm not very good at drawing, but I'd really love to make my own pictures of my characters.
So I figured out a way how I can do it - but I feel bad while doing it, so I have to ask:

Is this cheating?!

I uploaded some sample pictures of my work in progress for you to look at and maybe you can tell me if it's ok to do this or not...?
It's kind of a big picture so I put it into collapse!
See more

d9139bfqgi6b6f85i.jpg

To answer questions which might get asked:
I bought the Sims 4 in Origin with real money.
I created the sims characters on my own and adjusted several things from any standard types.
I didn't use any mods in the game.
I traced what seemed like the outlines of the screenshots I put together.
I added some detail myself, because that's the reason why I don't simply use Sims 4 (even custom content is not satisfying for me xD)
I used different layers and transparency in GIMP to trace the features.
I don't know if I can color this now or just have to delete it because I'm a cheater :O

I really can't figure myself.
On one hand, I still spend some time doing it - and will spend even more time and I'd just like to show people how I picture my characters and I don't want to make money with this.
On the other hand, it's not really 100% my work of art.
Maybe I should just do this for myself as some practise?
Or should I just delete it and practise drawing in another way?
I really feel bad about it. It's technology that gives me the opportunity to do such bad things :/

I would be glad if you could tell me if...
1.) ...something made like this is allowed to be put here on a character profile as reference pictures?
2.) ...this will make me look like some giant idiot who can't even put effort in learning how to draw properly?

Thank you in advance ^^"