Skip to main content

Forums » RP Discussion » Fantasy races

As a writer I feel that the internet has very little in the way of interesting races to rp as or to write about. They have wierd creatures that only barely resemble humans and aren't really human enough to be a good protagonist. They also have very cliche races such as vampires fairies and werewolves. While these are ok once in a while they can get to be just too much.elves and dwarves can also get to be that way but not as much. elemental are interesting but many people write elemental as inhuman which kind of deters me from them. END RANT.

ok so could any of you help me brainstorm some cool races to do or write about, or even point out some existing ones that I've missed. thanks!
Mipps

Well, if you want interesting races.. I would look to mythology and folklore.

What you listed is mostly mass media, tolkien and DnD related.. things you see commonly. But there are hundreds if not thousands of different types of creatures all around the world.

I'd pick a culture you greatly enjoy... for example... in Celtic folklore you have the Selkie; mythical seals who shed their skins on land to become beautiful human women... human men steal their skins to keep them on land and marry them for their beauty. There was a beautiful animated movie on netflix for a while that portrait this folklore in a wonderful way.

But I mean you can pick things like Russian folklore, or Romanin, German.. ect.. just google something like "German mythical creatures" and you'll get pages with a ton of ideas.

You can write about that sort of creature per the myth or you can take your own artistic spin on it.

Really there isnt alot you can do that hasnt already been done. - that is unless your making a new alien race for more Scifi settings. What really matters is that artistic spin in how you build your character and write them