Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » AMA: Social Work, Human sciences

Cass Moderator

Hi there, I'm Cass!

Nt91X7N.png

You may know me as a moderator on the RPR. In my personal life, I have completed many many courses in human sciences from sociology to psychology -- but my major is social work!

What is social work? My definition is that I can use my knowledge in a way that helps people better their lives. It's counselling, it's advocacy, it's social justice, fighting for human rights, crisis intervention, trauma work, empathy and support, psychosocial therapy, equality for all and more.

I have completed a diploma in social service work (which is similar as if I'd gotten an associates degree in social work for those in USA)
I am also currently in my final year of university. I am finishing my honours bachelor's degree in social work. I have attended multiple placements and currently work in the field of social work. I have worked or been a student at women's shelters [domestic abuse], child protection services, in-patient treatment for teenagers and more.

Due to the sensitive nature of this topic and the expectations and dignity of social work as a profession [i.e., social work code of ethics]; I may be selective about how I answer questions but please do not hesitate to ask regardless. :) If you are having personal problems and are looking for me to help you through them, please note this isn't the place to ask me. Seek professional counselling with someone in your area. <3

**P.S. I'm also fine if you'd like to ask me something anonymously in PMs and I post it for you. :)
tumblr_oy19x8wtES1wx5fjeo1_400.jpg
Gab

Wow, social work must be challenging! I'm curious, how much studying did you do on average for your classes?
Cass Topic Starter Moderator

Gab wrote:
Wow, social work must be challenging! I'm curious, how much studying did you do on average for your classes?

Hey Gab!