Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » AMA: Being a Bard

Okay, so it may be a bit of a stretch, but I fit most of the basic requirements.

What is a bard? According to Merriam-Webster, a poet, traditionally one reciting epics and associated with a particular oral tradition. To me, a bard can be anyone with a slight affinity for the fine arts. In my case, I'm a musician, storyteller, and actor (working on the sketching artist bit, but that'll take quite a bit of time).

For the music side, I play baritone sax, alto sax, a little bit of percussion, and learning how to play bass guitar. Edit: I also sing bass/baritone parts in vocal settings

On the acting side, I've been in several Scout BSA skits and have been in a total of three theatrical productions in my hometown (not a lot, but I'm getting better at finding places in need of actors).

For storytelling, I have around 300 wonderful characters that I absolutely adore from the bottom of my heart and I'm a slightly seasoned Dungeon Master in my area, from my own homebrew-in-process (HUGE shout-out to my friend Wandering_Ender for helping me with it) to official adventures.

Art is my weaker link, but I can draw rough sketches of symbols from my world and make some things look normal haha.

Anyways, I really wanted to participate in this but I didn't know how. Then a friend of mine mentioned that I'm kind of a real-life bard from Dungeons and Dragons, so I went with this. I'd love to answer any questions about what I like in the arts, challenges I've come up against, and anything that intrigues you. Thanks!
Auberon Moderator

Of all the instruments you play, which would you say is your favorite - and why? :)
TheNightmareSavage Topic Starter

Auberon wrote:
Of all the instruments you play, which would you say is your favorite - and why? :)