Skip to main content

Forums » RP Discussion » Is sci-fi dead?

Anora Rayburn (played by SteamPower_Birb)

I've noticed that there are almost no sci-fi RP's on the forums. there's like 9 of them most haven't been touched in months. with mine the only recent one. but there are 32 and 49 in general and fantasy respectivly.

It makes me wonder...is sci-fi a dying genre? Even on other Rp forums there isn't much for sci-fi. it's all moder/general or fantasy. what do you guys think?
Glacontour

I actually enjoy Sci-Fi very much. I don't know why there isn't more Scifi here...I would make a topic, but I'm still learning forum roleplaying, so I'm limiting myself to just replying for now...
Anora Rayburn (played by SteamPower_Birb) Topic Starter

I can understand that. but I'm also wondering why isn't there more sci-fi Rp on here? It's like it's become a very shunned genre. There are less and less i see that are sci-fi. most go fantasy and such. I RP at times on furcadia. even there i only know of two or three dreams there that are sci-fi when only a year ago there where almost ten of them.
Darth_Angelus Moderator

I don't think sci-fi is a dying genre (I personally prefer it) but I have observed that fantasy is always a more popular choice for roleplaying.
LittleLuckyRed1

I noticed this also, I made a topic quite awhile ago, and no one replied. I was kinda bummed out about it.
Kim Site Admin

Although fantasy seems to be a more popular choice for RP, to say that sci-fi is a dying genre is more than a little melodramatic. It's still extremely popular. Just not on our public forums.