Skip to main content

Forums » Introductions » Jetticus here, and not sure where here is...

Jetticus

I am new to RPing and I am doing it because it seems like something that could really drive some creativity into my life. I have played plenty of tablet-top RPGs, but I have never done anything like this. I would like to know what I should do, any pointers would be nice. Thank you all!
Kim Site Admin

Hello there! You've come to the right place if you'd like a gentle introduction to text-based RP.

There are all kinds of text based RP. Some of it is very structured, with stats and dice rolling like you'd see in most tabletop games (You can roll dice on our forums!), and some of it is very "freeform", doesn't use stats or dice at all and relies purely on the creativity and mutual trust of the players to create a collaborative story that is fair and fun for everyone involved. :)

Probably the best thing to do is head on over to the RP discussion part of our forums, and see if you can find a post about a RP you'd like to join. If not, you can always make your own topic with the sort of genre you're interested in exploring and asking other people if they have ideas for a RP or characters that would fit well.

If you get stuck, go ahead and ask for help! We won't bite. :) Welcome to the RPR!

(P.S. What is a B.A.M.F?)

rolled 1d20 and got 11

Jetticus Topic Starter

A B.A.M.F. is a Bad A$$ Mother F****r. I will take a look at the forums.
Welcome Jetticus. I still maintain all use of the word BAMF should refer to Nightcrawler. :P
Jetticus Topic Starter

I completely agree though Mr. Samuel L. Jackson is at least deserving an honorable mention.