Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » AMA Training Cats

Hi!

I have two kitties who are very talented. They are leash trained and Toulouse can shake, sit and poses for photos on command :)

I have a lot of experience working with cats and have a lot of Cat knowledge in general. Feel free to ask me :)

RBCVxUX.png
f62AMsu.png
Claine Moderator

You love your cats so much!!

I live in a fairly dense cluster of apartment buildings and you sometimes see people in the common areas walking their cats. I really want to go up and ask to pet them, but I'm guessing that's not okay?
InquisitorCat Topic Starter

Claine wrote:
You love your cats so much!!

I live in a fairly dense cluster of apartment buildings and you sometimes see people in the common areas walking their cats. I really want to go up and ask to pet them, but I'm guessing that's not okay?

Oh thats awesome that you see people walking their cats! If the cat it out in the open (not in a closed stroller or back pack) absolutely come and ask us! (Even if the cat is in a backpack and stroller, i'd still encourage you to come talk to me. )Just like a dog you should never pet without asking so the same rules apply to a cat! The owner will know if the cat will react well or not. For instance I know Chinny is weary of Children so I pick her up in my arms and kneel down and instruct them to pet the top of her head. I am in complete control of the situation. Part of the reason I do this is to get through my anxiety because it encourages people to talk to me and force me out of my shell. I am always ready to talk about my cats.
Do you use/recommend a clicker for cat trick training?
That's amazing! On the topic of cat training, do you find it difficult to get them to wear the leash or harness?

Juls wrote:
Do you use/recommend a clicker for cat trick training?