Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » AMA: Seamstress and Fashion Historian

Mirafin

Hello there!

I've been sewing pretty much since I was old enough to hold a needle. Though I'm not currently, I have worked as a professional seamstress, both for a small company and on my own. I've made everything from day to day wear, to theater costumes, to wedding dresses, to hand sewn historical garments. I now mostly only do work for friends and family.

I'm also a mostly self taught fashion historian. My area of focus is mostly the 1800s in the US, but I've studied a bit about many other times as well.
Auberon Moderator

This is extremely cool! I have also been sewing since I was a wee one, and I'm obsessed with fashion (even if I'm a scrub who wears pants and t-shirts every day). A few questions for you:
  • Do you have a favorite contemporary designer/design house?
  • Do you have a favorite garment/project that you have completed? (I would also love love love to see pictures if possible!)
Sanne Moderator

Have you ever had a moment where a project frustrated you so much that you seriously considered quitting the craft, if only for a few moments?
Mirafin Topic Starter

Quote:
Do you have a favorite contemporary designer/design house?

I don't really pay much attention to individual designers. I do like watching trends and seeing interesting design elements, especially when they're related to something historical. For example, a few years ago I saw a woman wearing a shirt with button details around the arm hole that reminded me of periods when sleeves would be buttoned or laced to the rest of the garment so that they could be changed.
Quote:
Do you have a favorite garment/project that you have completed? (I would also love love love to see pictures if possible!)