Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » AMA: I am a rehabilitation therapist

What is says on the tin. I'm a therapist who specializes in cognitive rehabilitation. My certification is as a speech-language pathologist. I have had my license for five years. Previously, I've worked with birth-3 in early intervention programs for children who were having trouble learning to speak or eat on their own. I have also worked in outpatient rehab settings for teenagers with rare genetic disorders. I currently work in geriatrics. Most of my current patients work on memory: dementia, Parkinson's disease, and post-stroke or post-traumatic brain injuries (falls, motorcycle accidents, etc). We work to restore daily functioning ranging basic skills such as orienting to person, place, and time all the way up through preparing an individual ideally to return to work or school after an illness or injury.

I cannot answer questions that might divulge patient information. Also, since I am only licensed and insured in one state in the US, I cannot provide personal advice. I can, however, answer the following types of questions:
    ►Daily routines in various settings: home-visits, outpatient, and residential
    ►What it's like being non-neurotypical in a field dominated by neurotypical therapists
    ►Questions about education and attaining a license in this field (in English speaking countries)
    ►Exactly how young therapists can be taken advantage of and how to avoid this
    ►The good, the bad, and the ugly of navigating private insurance and various federal and state programs
    ►For the purpose of creating more accurate characters, general questions about aphasia, dysphagia, dysarthria, stuttering, speech sound disorders, common neurological disorders, recovery from traumatic brain injuries, etc. (Please give a specific scenario.)
What it's like being non-neurotypical in a field dominated by neurotypical therapists?

What was your biggest "win"?