Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » AMA: Psychology student

Heya!

I'm a third year undergrad psychology student, with an end goal of getting into clinical psychology. Ask me anything!
Do you ever find yourself using what you've learned in your writing and characters? I feel like you must have a very diverse perspective of consciousness and the various ways in which minds work and think, i'm curious as to how that allows you to build onto a novel/hypothetical situation, must make for some wonderful detail !
VeraVe Topic Starter

Tyranoth wrote:
Do you ever find yourself using what you've learned in your writing and characters? I feel like you must have a very diverse perspective of consciousness and the various ways in which minds work and think, i'm curious as to how that allows you to build onto a novel/hypothetical situation, must make for some wonderful detail !

Pretty regularly, actually!
I do try to encorporate as much as I can into my writing- part of the learning process and all, but it in particular helps with creating convincing and compelling character backgrounds. I don't particularly flesh out my character backgrounds in their profiles, at least to begin with. But when it comes to actually writing out how past traumas, personality traits and personal affects are portrayed IC, it helps imo to have that idea of what is and isn't realistic and to understand the ways in which those aspects manifest in an actual person. Makes them more relateable and grounded, I think. 😁
Seeing your last answer, do you have any advice then on how to make a character more believable?o:

Also do you have a favorite thing within psychology? Maybe looking into a certain disorder or other topic?
VeraVe Topic Starter

Mirabell wrote:
Seeing your last answer, do you have any advice then on how to make a character more believable?o:

Also do you have a favorite thing within psychology? Maybe looking into a certain disorder or other topic?