Skip to main content

Forums » Introductions » Hello from OppressedMatrix

Greetings, my name is Derrick, and I'm located in northeast United States. I am a 21-year-old about to start my Master's program in Cultural Anthropology, although my background is in Cultural Studies. I have an interest in gender, sexuality, and class and how it intersects with cultural texts. Currently, my obsessions are Agamben and Foucault. I also have an interest in postmodern feminism and queer theory.

I'm a huge nerd and geek, so feel free to ask me more questions on the topic. My username is actually a play on a concept about intersectionality, Matrix of Oppression--in case you were wondering. =p

I'm really into reading, writing, roleplaying, and video games. I've been roleplaying since I was 11 on various forum sites. I have also RPed in MMORPGS, like Runes of Magic and Elder Scrolls Online, although I prefer forum RP. I have been an avid gamer since I received a PS2 when I was in elementary school--to this day I still play Scooby-Doo and Spyro games. I'm also really into strategy games like Civilization and Banished. Some of my current pleasures and all-time favorites are listed below:

Current Book: Nothing to Envy: Ordinary Lives of North Koreans by Barbara Demick
Current Writing Genre: high fantasy
Current Video Game: Fallout 4
Current Band: Highly Suspect ("Mister Asylum", "Lost", and "Lydia")

Favorite Book: Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury and A Separate Peace by John Knowles
Favorite Video Game: Mass Effect
Favorite Movie: Full Metal Jacket
Favorite Band: Steam Powered Giraffe ("Honeybee", "Wired Wrong", and "Fire, Fire")

If you would like to know more about me, feel free to ask. If you want to RP with me
dude, you are awesome just from your favorite video game
OppressedMatrix Topic Starter

Ion_shock wrote:
dude, you are awesome just from your favorite video game