Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » AMA: I'm a cop

Hello! I thought I’d jump onboard this AMA trend for fun. I am a 26-year-old female in law enforcement. Currently, I work as a deputy for a small-town sheriff’s office in southwest Colorado. We have roughly 56,000 folks in our county.

I have worked both on the road, and in the jail. And I’m here to answer any questions you might have within reason!

NOTE: I do not want to discuss politics. Please keep any questions focused on the job, rather than our current political climate. Thank you!
There are questions I would like to ask you, but I'm having trouble thinking of anything that would not tie in to the current political climate. I'm also not sure how much you'd even have for some of it working in a small town.

Hm... I suppose... how do you feel working in a small town differs from working in a larger, more populous area?
Rogue-Scribe

I’ll ask a question or three...
- How much firearms training did you have before becoming a police officer?
- What is the standard-issue sidearm for your department?
- Do you have a preference in a sidearm?

And I’m curious about the answer to Zephyr’s question. I know when I lived in Cle Elum Washington, any openings that came with the city PD and also the Kittitas County Sheriffs Department were usually filled by The ‘Big City’ officers from King County, Pierce County, and Seattle & Tacoma PDs thinking the opportunities were a bit less stressful.
bitteryeen Topic Starter

Zelphyr wrote:
There are questions I would like to ask you, but I'm having trouble thinking of anything that would not tie in to the current political climate. I'm also not sure how much you'd even have for some of it working in a small town.

Hm... I suppose... how do you feel working in a small town differs from working in a larger, more populous area?