Skip to main content

Forums » RP Discussion » Why past tense?

Legit, I'm new to RP via writing (literally started in October, all tabletop before that). I've never really been in writing circles, and don't know much about common practices, etc. And English isn't my first language.
So I can put two and two together re: first vs. third person, post lengths, etc. But why past tense?

No one said anything when I started my first 2 RPs without using past tense.. until I noticed it and fixed it myself. Then because I made the connection, I've noticed it mentioned everywhere. And that's totally cool, I've adjusted, except I'm not sure why?

Is it a grammar rule, a philosophical thing, just for consistency, or what?
It was something I was taught to do while I was writing essays in English and writing short stories back in high school. So, in my experience, I got used to it. It also was very flexible to me because you could use it both to refer to the past events and previous actions, and oddly, present ones too. There were certain and niche cases where I would use present and future tenses, but I would always just default to past tense because of how versatile it is and it can be used in almost all situations.

Even right now, I'm mostly writing in past tense with some rare present tenses here and there, which my teacher would scold me for if I'm inconsistent with my past tense usage.

So to me, it's not really either grammatical rules, philosophical, and whatnot. I think it's just practical to type in overall.
Luscinioide

present tense is really only suited for script/sentence rp because it describes a character actively taking an action. when you write a character doing multiple active actions...it starts to get a little weird and hard to follow.