Skip to main content

Forums » Smalltalk » Recipe thread

Sanne Moderator

Because I love to cook! I'm engaged to a chef so I can get tasty foods all year 'round, but I love cooking my own foods too. :P I'm a very selfish cook however; I cook to my own taste and don't care if others like it too. (Scenario: "Honey, taste this and let me know if we're ordering pizza tonight.")

Still, I love looking up recipes and trying out new things. I don't cook fancy things, I try to make boring foods more lively, hehe.

Got anything good to share? PLEASE POST! Let's make this a nummy, healthy thread!!

Mommy's pancakes

I love making these pancakes, they usually resemble waffles in flavor but have a pancake consistency. :)

Ingredients:
500 grams self raising flour
6 (L) eggs
100 to 200 grams of sugar (the more sugar, the more they taste like waffles. Due to my health I try to use as little sugar as possible though)
milk

Good for about 12-15 pancakes. With 125 grams of flour I usually make a minimum of 3 pancakes, up to 5 if I add more milk.

Preparation:
Mix the flour and sugar thoroughly, then add the eggs and milk. Add the milk until it has the consistency of yogurt if you want thick pancakes, make it nice and runny for thin ones. Keep mixing until there are no chunks left in the batter.

Cooking:
Heat the frying pan on medium without oil in it until it's hot, then pour either sunflower oil or olive oil into the frying pan (this is better for the pan and will make the oil better to fry in). Sunflower oil is preferred since it makes them taste better, but olive oil works too.

Use either a ladle or pour directly from the bowl until the pancake batter fills about 2/3 of the pan. It usually runs out a little, so it's important to leave some room or else you get really thick pancakes. I prefer mine thinner, but if you want them thick... well, go for it!