Skip to main content

Forums » Introductions » New group jitters

Hey there, hi there, ho there!
I, like a lot of RP obsessed people, have a bit of anxiety over joining a new group, trying to find my space to fit in, and figuring out if I belong, but ...I guess this is me stepping outside of my proverbial box and attempting to fly. Here's to hoping I don't faceplant instead. XD

A bit about me:

I generally go by Yvonne, though a lot of my long term online friends do call me Yvvy, and I'm perfectly alright with this nickname!
I've been roleplaying in one way or another for over 15 years, no telling just how long. Let's just say I'm old enough to know AOL and IRC rp groups. Lol.
I adore writing in all aspects. The act of creating a story, a world, with someone else, or multiple people, is something of an art that I think a lot of people just don't recognize often enough. It's an obsession and always has been.
I'm a single mother of three young children. Yes. I'm old. I'm okay with this. Lol. They are my world, my light, and my life.
I adore making new friends, but I get nervous and anxious pretty easily, so if people don't talk to me, I tend to not talk to people.
Hi Yvvy!

I also remember the good ole days of AOL and Yahoo hangouts, but these days it seems to be more Discord and forum based.

I’m quite shy too but mostly IRL. Online it isn’t so bad. I’ve only just joined recently but the community is extremely welcoming so I’m sure you’ll make some new friends to write with soon. Hope you’re well! x
Hi Yvonne!! Welcome to RPR! I hope you have a lot of fun here!
TheScreamingSiren Topic Starter

Heya, Aubade! Nice to meetcha! Yeah, I help run a new jcink forum with discord, and I'm making my own site, too. Discord is a big thing right now. xD

Yeah online it isn't so bad, but I still do find trouble getting myself into pre-established groups. Always tend to feel a little out of place. lol. But fingers crossed it won't go that way once I get to poking 'round!