Skip to main content

Forums » Introductions » Greetings and happy to be back!

Hi! I'm Percivalus (they/them), glad to be here once again.

I used to Roleplay on this site many moons prior but for reasons beyond and within my control, I decided to move on for a bit. I have since returned as I have realised I missed the unique aesthetic experience of roleplaying after I tried RPing with a chatbot on character.ai and found that an LLM didn't deserve the prose I was putting out.

So perhaps from an ethical standpoint, I reasoned that it's only fair that a sentient and conscious human being is worthy of the aesthetic experience of a connection formed via RP. I would not, however, be adverse to seeing AI as possessing intrinsic moral worth and dignity, but that would likely be further ahead in the future when such a consensus is formed.

Beyond that, I am a struggling student in a philosophy major and who identifies and shares in solidarity with the disabled and neurodivergent; I have a diagnosis of schizophrenia of which I affectionately call my "White Jackal" (à la Churchill's 'Black Dog'). I have found the experience of such a condition is unique and insightful but also deeply harrowing and alienating.

My mind is insatiable and restless, but my body cannot house its energy at times; I constantly want to learn about difficult and abstract topics and attempt to solve seemingly unsolvable problems, but I am simply too tired most of the time to achieve much of anything fruitful.

My favourite topics include:

- Applied ethics
- Philosophy of religion
- Political and legal philosophy
- Public health
- Classical studies
- Medieval studies
- Aesthetics (philosophy of art)
- AI Ethics
- Literature
- Psychology and neuroscience
- I'm exhausted just listing all of them

So overall, that's mostly me in a nutshell! But if you're keen and able, I will say that there's more to a nutshell than meets the eye; you need only crack it open.

Hope I wasn't too pretentious.