Skip to main content

Forums » Suggestions & Development Discussion » A "dark" setting for prompts (rejected)

TRIGGER WARNING
I will be discussing themes that could be offensive to some users, and will no doubt cause a debate.
If you want my honest opinion, if you're easily offended, it's probably best not to read this.

I'm Salazar, and I've been roleplaying for a good ten years of my life. As someone who has serious, and potentially life-threatening medical issues, roleplaying is a coping mechanism for me. I use it to get a brief escape from the problems and fears I face in real life. Some roleplay for fun, but for me, it has become an essential part of my life that makes each day a bit more bearable after repeatedly bad news.

RPR is not the first roleplaying site I've used in these ten years, and I doubt it will be the last. But so far, it has offered me more creativity and freedom than all the other sites I've used put together. In general, it has provided me with a means to have almost all of my RP needs to be met. The keyword there being almost. You see, it's hard to go through the things I've experienced and not develop a dark sense of humour, which eventually transformed into a desire to seek out or create characters and roleplays that had darker themes to them.