Skip to main content

Forums » RP Discussion » Is there anything wrong with certain reply lengths

GigaBit

Just curious about this, because lots of people ghost me when I say I like shorter post lengths.

I've been writing for three years now, and I've always had the same problem with this. I don't like a lot of fluff to my posts, and it's kind of hard to drag on what could have been a sentence or two to a few paragraphs, so I get straight to the point. Is there anything wrong with this method?
No, there's nothing inherently wrong with it. But different people will always have different preferences.
As Rain said, there's definitely nothing wrong with it! Different people do have their preferences.

I think the reason a lot of people might be ghosting you about you preferring shorter posts is because they don't wanna go through all the time and effort of writing a long, detailed paragraph, only for their RP partner to pull out a one-liner and that's it. (They might fear you're being 'lazy' when in reality you just like being concise.)

Again, nothing wrong with shorter posts (they certainly go a lot faster!), it just might not be everyone's cup of tea, y'know? :D
Different role-players, different perspectives. So long as folks are upfront about their posting style sooner rather than later in a conversation, a point of agreement - or deciding not to proceed - can be reached earlier.
I think the platform that your roleplay on has a lot to do with it too. There is nothing wrong with a short post. Like others said before me as long as you and your partner are open and agreeing.

But I think platform of finding someone who also enjoy short post too is something to think about. Those type of roleplays are usually quick and fast paced so instant messenger like discord my be better suited for that type of roleplay rather than PM on here.